About Division

Under the Madhya Pradesh Restoration of Commissioners Ordinance, 1956 (V) divisions were created in the state. Government of Madhya Pradesh, Revenue department published the Gazette notification on 1st November, 1956 to constitute this division. The headquarters of this division was set at Bhopal.
There were 7 districts in Bhopal division, including Hoshangabad and Betul district in addition to Betul district and Sehore, Vidisha, Raisen, Rajgarh, Shajapur, Hoshangabad and Betul. Bhopal did not have the status of the district at that time and the present area of Bhopal district was under Sehore district.

Revenue Department’s notification number 3870-seven-in-one dated December 13, 1971, changed the boundaries of Bhopal division and excluded the entire district of Hoshangabad and created Hoshangabad division from the date of publication of the notification. After the formation of Hoshangabad division, 6 districts remained in Bhopal division.

The Revenue Department created Bhopal district from October 2, 1972 by excluding the boundaries of Tehsil Huzur and Tehsil Berasia from Sehore district. In this way, 7 districts were again formed in the division.

In the year 1976, the boundaries of Shajapur district were excluded from Bhopal division and this district was included in Ujjain division. As a result, there were 6 districts in Bhopal division. In these districts, the boundaries of District Betul came from the state of Maharashtra and the boundaries of District Rajgarh came from Rajasthan province.

Madhya Pradesh Government, Revenue Department’s notification number F-1-12-08-seven-SH-6 dated 26 August 2008, the boundaries of Bhopal division were changed again and the districts included in Hoshangabad division besides Hoshangabad and Harda Bhopal division The new Narmadapuram division was created, covering Hoshangabad, Harda and Betul districts, with the headquarters of Hoshangabad, excluding the boundaries of the entire district Betul.
After the division of the government from time to time, presently Bhopal division consists of 5 districts – Bhopal, Raisen, Rajgarh, Sehore, and Vidisha.